My True Love Gave To Me edited by Stephanie Perkins (Book Review)

 

https://i1.wp.com/is5.mzstatic.com/image/thumb/Publication/v4/0e/39/80/0e3980bb-d6a5-9f18-1490-5df00072124b/source/10000x10000bb.jpg

Title: My True Love Gave To Me

Author: Various Authors

Genre: Short Stories, Romance

Publication Date: October 14, 2014

Date Read: January 15, 2016

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Format: ebook

Pages: 336

Ratings: 3 out of 5 stars

 

SUMMARY FROM GOODREADS

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers (Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de La Peรฑa, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Rainbow Rowell, Stephanie Perkins, Laini Tayler and Kiersten White), edited by the international bestselling Stephanie Perkins. Whether you celebrate Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or Kwanzaa, there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.


MY REVIEW

1. Midnight by Rainbow Rowell – 5/5 Stars

This was my first story that I have ever read written by Rainbow Rowell and I’m amused. Her writing is fantastic and light and it is actually GOOD. I love the concept of the story and the pacing. When I finished reading this one and loved it, I immediately bought one of her books and it’s Carry On (my review for that book will be up soon).

2. The Lady and The Fox by Kelly Link :- 1/5 Stars

“What did I just read?” That was my first thought that came to my mind when I finished reading this one. At first, it was okay and I’m really liking the premise of this book but then it became confusing and I have no idea what really happened at the end.

3. Angels in the Snow by Matt De La Pena – 3/5 Stars

This was a little bit slow for me at first, but it was okay. I don’t love it but I don’t hate it also. It’s in between. Just okay.

4. Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han – 4/5 Stars

I really liked the concept of this book and where it was really going. But I wish this would have been longer. I mean it’s really short compared to others but anyway it was good.

5. It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins – 5/5 Stars

This was like my favorite among the twelve short stories. Stephanie Perkins’ writing is great and fun. I really like the chemistry between the main characters in this story, they are perfect for each other. I NEED MOREEEE!

6. Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan – 5/5 Stars

The first thing that I noticed in this story is David Levithan’s amazing writing style. Though nothing really happened at all that is really significant in the book but David’s writing is great. Whenever he writes, it inspires you with such good quotes.

7. Krampuslauf by Holly Black – 2/5 Stars

This was a slow read for me. I can’t get through it easily and I’m not really interested in how the story goes. It was confusing at times.

8. What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth by Gayle Forman – 3/5 Stars

I did like some of parts of this story but the pacing is slow at the beginning and I’m not really that excited on what will happen next as I’m reading this. It was okay.

9. Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire – 2/5 Stars

It was short. It would have been good if it was a a bit longer though.

10. Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White – 5/5 Stars

The pacing of this story was good, it was a fast read. I love the characters and the story itself.

11. Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter – 5/5 Stars

I really like the concept of the story and how it makes sense in the end. It was a fun read!!!

12. The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor -NO RATING

I mean, I didn’t even bother to finish this book. I find it boring I don’t even know why. Maybe because of the writing? I think it’s the writing.

FINAL RATING: 3/5 Stars

-Josiah

2 thoughts on “My True Love Gave To Me edited by Stephanie Perkins (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

